Grown Folk Business

Sunday is that day when old men wanna get away from wifey and pursue whatever it is that makes them happy. That one thing that lets them feel like they still have a little spark of independence and rebellion left. Some get together with the old gang and ride motorcycles, some go deep sea fishing. For others, it’s as simple as a game of football in the park.
This old man, I just wanna burn. Give me a wall, a train, a truck, (hell… give me a plane, I don’t care.) a couple cans and let me loose.
This past Sunday I linked with my dude FARGO GND, an old time Brooklyn killer who was crushing the lines while I was still playing skelly and flipping baseball cards. If you aren’t up on the Graffiti Never Dies crew, do the knowledge. These cats were notorious; The Kelly Park Boys, The Satan’s Reapers, call ‘em what you want, but unless you called them friends, you better had stayed the hell out of Cherry Hill lay-up. Or Church Ave. Or Ft. Hamilton. Or Sheepshead, or ANY of the multitude of spots they locked down in their day.
I got put down with the second generation of GND by TRIKE ONE in the eighties, but these dudes were already kings a good ten years prior.
Fast forward to 2009, Fargo picks me up on Ocean Ave. and we head out to my old partner TATU X-MEN‘s spot. Nice day for a drive, listening to Dancehall til the Holy Roller Gospel Hour ends, then it’s Hal Jackson and Felix Hernandez with the Oldies all day long.
I had decided to do a BASH piece for my boy BASH-TON the Abstract. This dude use to spit his little freestyles in Washington Sq. Park back in the days and Q-Tip, Phife, and Jerobi were always in the Cypher. Later on, when Tip started making records, he’s calling himself Abstract. But we know who’s the Abstract Original (you can’t get your own and that’s pitiful)!!!


My outline was kinda DOC-TC5 meets PART and CHAIN in 1978.


The character was straight DOZE TC5 style, but kinda looks like my man BASH.



… See ya next sunday…

(via)

One thought on “Grown Folk Business

  1. Fwesheee fwesh My broddah one love bashton Invizabulmang aka Aberski….XMen Go Club City crew ……..

Leave a comment